~FOR THE SEEING~

~

The Mason jar full of broken shards…

its translucent-jagged pieces haunt me,

their aching-angles are dangerous

they shine so brightly, deceptively.

This vessel is hidden in plain sight

beneath our bed on my side for sleeping,

it resides beside the wood of corner post.

I can see it, bed skirts won’t conceal

I feel its looming presence long into day

and I know that you will find it soon, too.

~

Such shadows of past are sure to find surface.

This hesitant history is hating on me

teasing of telling, spilling truth and blood.

Thick red and gnashing slivers will surge,

cutting deeper and deeper with time

but inevitably every splinter pushes out

finds its way to the light of reconciliation;

causes one to turn their entire world-

inside out, to face the Light and Truth.

It was always there, plain for the seeing.

~

© Hannah Gosselin and Metaphors and Smiles, 2012

~

Mary’s Mixed Bag-

Dreams and Nightmares

Imaginary Gardens 

click the cutie for more  Real Toad Poems!!

21 thoughts on “~FOR THE SEEING~

  1. I used to believe that if I shut all of my childhood horrors away inside the darkest place I could find within, then, it wouldn’t or couldn’t hurt me anymore. Hence the dreadful night mares and night terrors. It’s only by allowing our inner child to also see the light of day and giving her/him a voice that was perhaps denied that those demons can finally be let go of, gotten rid of, and, we set ourselves free.
    This reminded me so much of that. All things need to be shown the light.
    A good write and a very good read Hannah.

    Like

  2. I love the ending how you give us a hopeful view!
    “but inevitably every splinter pushes out

    finds its way to the light of reconciliation;

    causes one to turn their entire world-

    inside out, to face the Light and Truth.

    It was always there, plain for the seeing.”

    Just like the truth always finds a way to come through~
    I love the insight of your verse~

    Like

    • Oh, thank you SO much, Ella!! I’m really pleased you liked this…it’s one of those dreams that sticks with me for sure and the meaning always morphs but I think this is probably the true meaning.

      Sorry I haven’t returned your email…will coffee-talk VERY soon! ((Hugs))

      Like

  3. Yes, indeed, every splinter pushes its way out. Every splinter demands attention, has to be dealt with. I think that is what happens in dreams sometime. The splinters find a way of having their ‘time in the sun.’ Even a splinter can turn one’s world inside out…in a dream. I greatly enjoyed your write.

    Like

  4. Excellent use of the metaphor of splintered glass/jar ~ The ending lines are meaningful, as it should be if we want to move forward beyond the shadowy past ~ Wishing you a happy summer weekend ~

    Like

  5. “Not a facebook poem” — wonderful way to put it, and oh so true. Aren’t we fortunate to have the Toads with whom to share our less than portrait-pretty poems?
    This is a very good write, Hannah.
    K

    Like

    • I agree, Kay, so very fortunate. I’s so rare in the real world to feel one can bare their “bones,” to the public and not get “looks.” Thank you for your generous comments! Smiles to you!

      Like

  6. Pingback: featured poets ~ Hannah Gosselin | my heart's love songs

  7. Pingback: encore presentation: 2012 featured poets ~ Hannah Gosselin | my heart's love songs

I'm so grateful for your visit and I really enjoy reading your thoughts. :)'s

