Not an Atypical Poem

~

Not an Atypical Poem

Lower me to the raging of river,

float me atop waters current;

a swiftly-slipping origami boat,

perching on the lip…

of the next swirling eddy.

*

Trace the skies of my pattern

as I dip and climb…

bursting the edges of blue canopy;

devour the crisp-contrast of me,

this brilliant red-scrim of a kite is shattering.

 *

Attempt to step in just the space

where my foot has last fallen

scattering the stones from path;

crunch and crumble, the gritty sound of earth,

as we ascend craggy, majestic, mountain trails.

 *

Gather from the echo in my mind…

the low-slow sound that carries

through that cluster of apple trees;

pink-blossomed and buoyant with bees,

listen, a somber afternoon lullaby sung by mourning doves.

 *

Gather yourselves with me as I trip gracefully

babbling as a brook poured over pebbles,

filling to the brim in a quiet forest found pond;

my cup is over-flowing with the wonder of nature,

my soul calls in the voice of the laughing loon.

~

© Hannah Gosselin and Metaphors and Smiles, 2012

~

So, this is what I came up with for Mama Zen’s excellent prompt…as you can see I promptly forgot the 25 words or less rule!! I have to tell you all though that this was very freeing…I’m usually battling my power images…keeping them at bay in order to keep from over-using them so this exercise made my inner-muse so very happy…lettin’ it all hang out…so to speak!

I liked how this turned into a very geometrical shape…five-five-lined stanzas…each self-contained bursts of inspiration… :)

How about I call it a, “Pent-A-Gone,” this form will release pent up musings in the form of our five favorite things, expressed in five lines each.

5×5=25  Ha ha…maybe that’s where I got my twenty-five!!

This is the real Challenge @ Real Toads

Words Count with Mama Zen

So, what about you, poet?  What’s your power image?  What sort of symbols do you find yourself returning to again and again?  Show us . . . in twenty-five words or less.

9 thoughts on “Not an Atypical Poem

  1. Pingback: Making Words Count « Metaphors and Smiles

  2. OhmyWORD. There is way too much to love here. I think this is my absolute favorite, though:

    “Trace the skies of my pattern

    as I dip and climb…

    bursting the edges of blue canopy;

    devour the crisp-contrast of me…”

    Like

  3. Pingback: featured poets ~ Hannah Gosselin | my heart's love songs

  4. Pingback: encore presentation: 2012 featured poets ~ Hannah Gosselin | my heart's love songs

I'm so grateful for your visit and I really enjoy reading your thoughts. :)'s

